Assignment 3 – Rework – Preparation

After the Google Hangout with my tutor and reading his report, I set out to work on making the changes he suggested and create a narrative in the style of the images he found most striking. Of all tutors, Russell has been most directive in what kind of changes I should make and what works and what doesn’t. I have to get used to this and find myself doubting if this is what I would have actually done myself. But I have to say I do feel really challenged to push myself, look for other possibilities and be more creative. I think this has worked in the images I have added to the narrative.

Again, it took sometime to get the tone and idea clear in the layout. I have decided on a very clean and simple layout, which has the effect I am looking for. The images are all a bit dark and reminded me of a person who is longing for something. So I looked up some quotes of which I think that they will enforce the narrative in the images and I think that it adds an extra layer of understanding to the story.

On the other hand, I might be taking away some of the personal interpretation of the viewer, but I always like to read captions and ideas that come with images, so I think this is okay.

Again, it took about three different versions before I was kind of happy with the result:

Escapism

Longing

Longing 2

As you can see, I have changed a few photos in the process as well. This was because I think the image below adds to the variety of images and has a better quality. My tutor had suggested that I take the photo again, this time looking through the window, but I realise there actually are already quite a few where I am looking through a window, so decided to stay with this one.

self portrait 3-7899-Edit

Leave a Reply

