Assignment 2 – Lady of Faith

In order to visualize certain aspects of faith, I went to the website of the Dutch Rijksmuseum, which has an online gallery from which you can download art. I looked for depictions of Faith and came across numerous drawings from Fide, a mythological/christian symbol of faith:

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-1-35-58-pm

Geloof (Fides), Jacob Matham, naar Hendrick Goltzius, 1593 (no date) Available at: http://hdl.handle.net/10934/RM0001.collect.150590 (Accessed: 6 February 2017)

I find it striking that the image of a woman, with a cross and a glass wine became a symbol of faith and hope. Her discreet and humble gaze, having her mind on non worldly things stands in sharp contrast of faith nowadays. I thought it would be interesting to create a photograph that showed a different version of Fide, a disillusioned, alcolholic Fide, absorbed with what she is seeing going on in the world and incompetent to bring faith anymore. Here are some of the images I took and the final result:

lady-faith-7

The image didn’t quite turn out how I wanted it to, and I realized I was not supposed to stage photos in the first place. I have thought of taking photos at a party of a friend who has a very rich family, but felt too embarrassed to photograph there.

I did enjoy the conceptual aspect of creating these images and would like to work more on that in future courses.

Leave a Reply

