Research through Drawings and Mind Maps

My tutor report mentioned that I should elaborate more on the research I have done for my assignment, and also be more creative in how to present my work. I have been thinking about that. The thing is that I’m not sure if it is helpful to write a complete blogpost about an artist that I have looked at or have thoughts about, just for the sake to show what I am doing. I will often already write notes when looking at their work, reading essays, etc. and then don’t follow up on blogging about out it, resulting in not showing all of the research that I have done.

Therefor it was very refreshing to watch the OCA video of Sue Jones’ work. She has a very visual way of taking notes and mind mapping that shows her research and makes it very clear in a concise, visual way. I found it reassuring that it didn’t have a lot of drawings, because I am really bad at drawing and that is what often keeps me from having a notebook on paper. It doesn’t have to look as perfect as other note books I have seen, as long as it shows my way of thinking.

So, I’m going to get my notebook out again and start writing more things down, show my visual ideas and give myself the freedom to experiment. Thanks Sue!

Morris, A. (no date) Available at: https://www.oca-student.com/weareoca/photography/sue-jones (Accessed: 8 November 2016).
Leave a Reply

