Assignment 1 – Initial Ideas

I want to use this post to blob down any ideas in bullet points that come up while thinking about Assignment 1. So it doesn’t particularly make sense, but it is a bit better identifiable than the terrible handwriting in my note book.

August 19, 2016

  • My Community: Who is my community? Not my family, but the first circle of people I spend most time with. Those are parents of the school my kids go to. The thing that binds us are our children, but also the fact that we are all strangers living in Delhi for a relatively short period of time. Who do we identify with? What is it that I want to show? Do I want to focus on our differences, or the elements that unite us?
  • First idea: Environmental portraits taken with my 50 mm lens. That lens captures light and character beautifully and is the sharpest of the ones I own.
  • Which environment? At school? Maybe? After looking at Robbie Coopers work maybe I can do two, like a diptych. One in their house and one where they feel at home. This might be the same for some.
  • Maybe film or interview?
  • Focus on identity, nationality and place?
  • Give a lot of choice concerning setting, clothing etc to the subjects.
  • Do I want to photograph B and W, or colour? Use of flash or natural light? Or do whatever the situation asks for?

August 23, 2016

  • Photographers to research: Nan Golding, Jim Goldberg!

September, 15, 2016

  • Starting to think of other ways to photograph the community, maybe take pictures of a school event? Or the cafe where everybody meets in the morning?
  • How do I show my personal involvement? Through captions? Do I let them write their own captions?

October 4, 2016

  • Photographed at a school event, but the images don’t give me the kind of interaction that I want to show. Starting to think about photographing my life on a compound, since it’s actually a very strange way of living.
  • Want to stress differences between expats and local staff, interdependency and the distance between them.
  • Because I have to show my interaction with my community, I want to write my own captions and give my own interpretation to the images I am taking.

October 12, 2016

  • Took my first photographs. Some posed immediately, even though I hadn’t really given any instructions. With others I asked if I could photograph them and they just continued with what they were doing. I think I have a nice balance of posed and unposed.
  • Should I add the images of the Russian compound? They do stress the anonymity of the lives expats live and the fact that only in my street there are 5 different communities with other cultures and backgrounds, that I don’t know anything about.

October 18, 2016

  • Posted a question on the student forum and got some great feedback and ideas. Have been looking at the work of Tom Hunter, David Hurn and some photographers on Lensculture. Very inspiring!
Leave a Reply

